A Thousand Words: A Year of Pictures

It’s December, which means it’s about that time of year when I start reflecting on the previous year….OK, I’ll cut the crap. I don’t do that until Dec. 31, and usually then I’m saying “PLEASE LET [Insert next year here] BE BETTER THAN THIS YEAR WAS!” This post is coming to you via a prompt for Think Kit,, which tells me I should write a blog every day this month. Since I failed miserably at NaNoWriMo last month, I  figure that I need to at least do something. So here we go.

January

I’m honestly not sure what all I did during January.

I remember there was a polar vortex that was miserable, and digging my car out of that was not fun.

But January 26 also marked Normie living with me for one whole year!

I won’t have officially celebrated being his mother for a year until February 1st, his official Gotcha Day, but I took him home on January 26 a year prior.

And he’s held my heart ever since.

January2

February

In February, we celebrate Valentine’s Day.

I posted this picture with the caption “Snuggles on Valentine’s Day.”

Now I’m not a huge fan of Valentine’s Day in the first place, but looking at it now, I probably should have taken it as a warning sign that my Valentine’s Day was spent snuggling with my dog.

(I promise, these won’t ALL be pictures of my dog.)

February

March

In March, I hung out with my favorite little girl — my “niece” Olivia.

I see her every few months, but it’s not nearly enough.

I wish I lived closer so I could visit her more often.

She looks so little here!

But I suppose she was only about 6 months old then.

March2

April

And in April, I got to hang out with this little cutie pie 🙂

It was Easter, so it was family time.

My cousin Amanda brought over her son Braxton.

April

May

May means one thing to me (besides my birthday) — Indy 500.

Which means, of course, the annual Indy party at the Marleys’ house.

We’ve been going to their house for the Indy 500 for as long as I can remember, and there’s never a dull moment.

May

June

I finally got rid of having an old car and started leasing a 2014 Toyota Corolla.

Now, I feel so spoiled.

I don’t know how I ever went without my digital temperature control and my backup camera.

June2

July

Two words: Joey Richter.

Fourteen words: You should be really proud of me because I didn’t pass out from excitement.

I went to Chicago on July 5 and 6 to see Trail to Oregon and Ani: A Parody. They were absolutely fantastic.

I also got to meet Lauren Lopez, Nick Lang, and Joe Moses, and I re-met Brian Holden and Joe Walker.

But I finally met Joey Richter. I like to think of this as a picture with my new boyfriend, because later that month, my then-boyfriend of five years and I broke up.

July

August

August was the month of weddings.

I’m not kidding.

Three weekends in a row…and none of them were in Indy.

But I got to see one of my best friends, one of my favorite cousins, and a lifelong family friend whom I love dearly all get married. So it doesn’t really matter where they were. I’d have traveled across the world just so I didn’t miss them.

August

September

Football season was in full swing, and I head to a Colts game with Ashley and Alan.

And the Colts KICKED BUTT. I should really be at all their games. Maybe I’m their good luck charm.

(Or maybe it’s because they played the Titans. But I’m going to go with the former.)

September

October

I celebrated Sweetest Day with my sweetest, Norm. I love my dog, OK? And pets are the most unconditional love we can get.

October

November

I fostered Zola (Zo, ZoZo, Zoey) for most of November. She was a kitten at FACE. She’s back at FACE now, and I miss her. I think Norm does too.

November

December

December means CHRISTMAS. So clearly my Christmas decorating is in full swing. And I’ve only just begun…

December

Leave a Reply

