Look Outward, Look Inward

Think Kit, Day 14:

“By telescope or microscope, or no scope at all – what did you discover? A new aspect of yourself?”

I’ve kind of covered this topic a little bit before, but here I go again.

This year, I discovered… I don’t know how to date.

Until July, I was under the impression that dating was something that I just would never have to deal with again. Life has a funny way of throwing you curveballs.

So entering the dating world again…it’s scary. And I had, and still have, no clue what to expect.

I actually did go on a date the other day. I didn’t tell many people, frankly because I don’t think it’s everyone’s business. I mean, it was one date. If it turned into something, I’d tell people. But no one tells everyone they know every time they go on a date. (So yes, I realize it’s ironic that I’m discussing it now.)

And until I was barraged with a bunch of questions, I didn’t realize quite how out of touch I was with dating.

“How was it?” “Did you hug?” “Did you kiss?” “Do you like him?” “Do you have a second date scheduled?” “Have you talked since then?” *The next day* “How is [insert name here]?” *Another day later* “So, how’s [insert name here]?”

GAHHHHHHHHH.

I tried not to think too much about any of these things in depth, because I didn’t want to read too much into anything that happened or didn’t happen, that was said or wasn’t said.

But the questions made me think. What is the norm for these things?

And then I had to Google. (Which, I should know by now, is always a mistake.) “How long should I wait for someone to call?” “How can you tell if someone likes you?” “Who should contact who after a first date?”

And this is when I discovered two things. One inward, one outward.

I suck at dating.

And dating sucks.

Leave a Reply

