Let’s Get Physical, Physical

Think Kit, Day 17:

“Time to go through your (actual) desktop, junk drawer, or coat pockets and share an artifact from your past. A half-torn ticket stub, once-washed receipt, coffee-stained map, anything in a frame: it’s all fair game. What springs to mind from your artifact? The smells, sights, and sounds? A specific feeling? Hold it in your hand, close your eyes, and go back in time to a moment.”

Hidden in the depths of my wallet is a ticket stub for the show Trail to Oregon.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t actually look for it, but I’m pretty sure it’s there. Either way, I wore my Trail to Oregon shirt today, so I have something in my apartment to take me back.

I went to Chicago by myself. It wasn’t the ideal situation, but my only friend who loves Team Starkid as much as I do was getting married in a month, so her schedule was crazy busy.

It was a Saturday. July 5. I was at my parents’ house that weekend, so I took the South Shore train into the city and the CTA to Stage 773. I remember being especially excited because this is the show with some of my absolute favorites from Starkid: Joey Richter, Lauren Lopez, and Jaime Lyn Beatty. It also starred two more people who I’ve quickly grown to love: Jeff Blim and Rachael Soglin. (Correy Dorris also starred.)

I think Trail to Oregon is the funniest show I’ve ever seen. It involves the audience. Every show, the characters had different names, chosen by the audience members.

When I went, their names were Dickweed (dad), Lilly Pad (mom), Dysentery (daughter), Chlamydia (son), and Master Roshi (Grandpa).

I can’t wait til it’s on YouTube (hopefully next month, maybe the month after) so I can harass you all with the links.

Leave a comment