Soundtrack of the Year

Think Kit, Day 19. This one is EASY:

“Strike up the band – what was the soundtrack to your year? Was it the music you listened to the most? A certain song that kept reappearing, or worse…that you couldn’t get away from? Or maybe it wasn’t music at all – maybe a podcast, voice, performance, or significant sound played over-and-over. Whatever you heard: we’re all ears!”

I bet if you know me and you’re reading this, you know what’s coming next.

The soundtrack to my year?

“1989” by Taylor Swift.

I don’t care that “1989” didn’t come out until the end of October, meaning I’ve listened to it for less than two months of the year. It has to be the album that I listened to the most.

Taylor Swift’s music makes me feel free. Happy. Strong. Confident. Beautiful. It’s weird that one album can do that. But the music is fun and happy, and Taylor Swift is one of the most incredible people on the planet.

I most often jam to “Blank Space,” “Style,” “All You Had to Do Was Stay,” “Shake It Off,” “Bad Blood,” “How You Get the Girl,” “Clean,” “Wonderland,” “New Romantics” … OK, apparently I jam to almost all of them. OK, I jam to all of them, but these ones are especially my favorites.

Besides the music being amazing, it’s also been very fitting to be an actual soundtrack to my life. Getting over a break-up? “Clean.” Starting to date again? “Blank Space.” Living the single life? “New Romantics.” Pissed off at someone? “Bad Blood.” Just want to have fun? “Shake It Off.”

Taylor Swift is perfect.

Since I already posted the music video for Blank Space on my post about what I’m looking forward to in 2015, I’ll let you all enjoy “Shake It Off” now.

Leave a Reply

