One small step for bigots, one giant leap for perpetuating sexual prejudice

AKA Indiana’s Religious Freedom Bill

Let me start off by saying this. I grew up as a Christian. I still am one. I believe in God. I believe Jesus is the Savior.

But I also believe that the “Religious Freedom” Bill the Indiana House just passed is truly the most despicable thing I have ever heard of.

I generally don’t involve myself in politics. I hate the arguments over who is right or wrong, why the person with the opposite opinion sucks, etc. I’m terrible at debating.

When I discuss politics with anyone whose opinions differ from mine, I always come out feeling dumb and inadequate. So I avoid it. But I really can’t let this one slide by.

So this new Religious Freedom Bill will make it legal for businesses to discriminate and refuse service to any LGBT people. Because it’s against their religion.

You know what’s against my religion? Judging people. Not loving everybody.

I mean, don’t get me wrong. There are a lot of people in this world I don’t like (the people who passed this bill, perhaps?). I am not perfect. But I also am not the ones who want to refuse service to someone just because of their sexual preference.

And don’t get me wrong. I think there are a lot more problems that will come from this than just sexual preference, which is the obvious one.

I mean, what’s next? With this bill, are Christian business owners going to stop serving ANYONE who isn’t a Christian.

 

“Oh, you’re an atheist? You don’t believe in God, which is against my religion. Get out.” “You’re a Buddhist? You worship a false God. That’s against my religion. Get out.” “You’re Jewish? You haven’t accepted Jesus as your Savior. That’s against my religion. Get out.” Unmarried woman with a child? Forget it.  Will owners of an older religion that see women as not as important as men start refusing service to women?

I just think this could get really out of hand very quickly.

And disclaimer: I’m totally not saying all Christians are like this. Like I said, I am a Christian. And I know there are some pretty darn amazing ones out there who do love and accept everybody. I’m not saying this as something that applies to all Christians. But it definitely applies to some.

Here’s the thing, Indiana. Same-sex marriage is legal now. Accept it, and don’t push away and refuse service to good people just because of who they love. If you’re going to use God as your reason to refuse service to someone, just remember something: God loves all His children.

Leave a Reply

