Does a Daith Piercing Really Work for Migraines?

If you’re a chronic migraine sufferer, I’m sure you’ve heard of this by now: The daith piercing.

It’s rumored to work similarly to acupuncture. Supposedly, the spot on your ear where you get the daith piercing is a pressure point for headaches/migraines.

Keep in mind, this is all word-of-mouth. There haven’t really been studies on the daith piercing as of yet that determines whether or not it actually works.

From what I can tell, there seems to be a pretty even split: Doctors saying it doesn’t have a scientific basis for working, and migraine sufferers saying it has helped them.

I get migraines anywhere from once a week to once a month. The pain is excruciating, and you really can’t do anything sometimes. I spent my last Friday night falling asleep at 5:30 p.m., as soon as I got home from work, because I couldn’t do anything else. My usual cure for a migraine is medicine and a nap. Just one or the other usually won’t work. Something about the medicine+sleep formula seems magic. Unfortunately, you lose the hours that you sleep and likely the hours leading up to the sleep when the migraine was starting.

So when I heard about the daith piercing, I was intrigued. Could something as simple as a piercing help me suffer from fewer migraines?

I’m still considering whether or not to get a daith piercing, but right now my mentality is this: Why not? The only real downfall is some people say it can take up to a year to heal. But Body Piercing magazine‘s website puts that number at only 3 to 6 months. If it doesn’t work, at least you haven’t spent a bunch of money. Body Piercing Magazine also states most reputable piercers will only charge $40 to $50, though I’m sure the cost varies based on the cost of living in your city.

So now I speak to those of you who have had a daith piercing. Does it work? Or is it just another myth? Comment below and let me know!

2 thoughts on “Does a Daith Piercing Really Work for Migraines?

  1. I have never heard of this treatment for migraines, but I have tried many other treatments that haven’t worked until I changed my diet. I found that the foods I was eating were the primary (but not only) cause of the migraines. Once I eliminated the main triggers, I didn’t have to do treatments to get the pain to go away. You could consider trying the diet before doing something that requires healing time. I am posting about my experiences and recipes I am coming up with.

    I hope you find something that helps.

    • Thanks for sharing! I need to keep a food diary and try to figure out if I have any food triggers. I believe for the most part though that my triggers are stress and then staring at a computer screen all day! Seems to happen only when I work all day. I try to get up and take walks now just to give my eyes/head a break.

Leave a Reply

